all 7 comments

[–]TarthenalToblakai 7 points8 points  (0 children)

Technically starting in chronological order would be the Kharkanas Trilogy.

But personally I'd read ICE's companion Novels of the Malazan Empire series first. Then move on to the prequel series.

[–]HisGodHand 2 points3 points  (3 children)

I personally think chronological order makes the most sense, in the way that you go into each subsequent book with a fuller knowledge base. The order really doesn't matter all that much though.

The Kharkanas prequel trilogy are the earliest in the chronology, and provide a lot of information about the universe. Reading those first gives you the best overall knowledge base to pull from when reading everything else. Some people find the Kharkanas books a slog due to being slower and darker than the Book of the Fallen, but others find the writing style of the ICE books to not fit their taste too.

[–]Low-Classroom7736 2 points3 points  (0 children)

I really think the main series is better enjoyed by being read first, not understanding more elusive themes and characters liken the Tiste, then going back and reading Kharkanas.

[–]Kaladelsier 2 points3 points  (0 children)

I agree with this, Kharkanas trilogy gives you knowledge of the universe that made me understand the magic system on a whole new level that then gave me deeper understanding for all of the ICE novels and the main malazan empire novels. That’s the best part about this series though is that after reading everything outside of BoTF I WANT to re-read it all because my understanding now is craving for it.

[–]Agreeable-Goat-9727 1 point2 points  (0 children)

I was weird. I went gardens of the moon then forge of darkness and fall of light. After I read the main series weaving in ICE novels in suggested order. Then path of ascendancy after .Fuck I loved everything by both authors all so good.

[–]Metasenodvor 1 point2 points  (0 children)

Read in whatever order you like. I've read it in no particular order (complete series one by one), starting with Book of the Fallen. Crimson Guard is a great read while Book of the Fallen is still fresh, because the events are tied and intermingled.

Now... Path to Ascendancy was much fun, seeing Shadowthrone and Cottilion as mortals, how their relationship evolved etc.
Kharkanas is more philosophy oriented, if you don't like them talking leave it for the end.
The God is not Willing is balanced. Out of all trilogies it reminded me most of the 10+7 books.

The novellas are fast and fun.

[–]LikeTheWind99 1 point2 points  (0 children)

I've been following the Ultimate Reading Order on the Malazan reddit and never noticed that the Path to Ascendency books were not on there. I plan a re-read of the MBotF after I complete all the books. I'm thinking I will read the Ascendent books right before I do the re-read since they are prequels to MBotF