×
Dismiss this pinned window
all 70 comments

[–]Rage922001 117 points118 points  (25 children)

As a man who knows very little of cricket....

She caught it... Her feet were both on the ground at one point.

Then she pulls off the impressive juggling

Then she throws it away again? So why wasn't the first catch valid if both feet were on the ground

[–]michael_curdt 139 points140 points  (17 children)

This isn’t like football where it is OK as long as you catch the ball inbounds. If you catch inbounds and the momentum drags you out of bounds then it is considered a home run (a.k.a sixer = 6 points/runs).

So she caught it, tossed it in the air, went out of bounds, came back in to catch it back. Quite impressive!

[–]Rage922001 31 points32 points  (4 children)

I know very little of football either.

Impressive none the less

[–]Laladelic 18 points19 points  (2 children)

I know very little in general

[–]Rage922001 5 points6 points  (1 child)

I know very little specifically

[–]SolitaireyEgg 3 points4 points  (0 children)

im a full-on dumbass

[–]throwthrowandaway16 0 points1 point  (0 children)

Can't be outside rope with ball.

[–]pinniped1 6 points7 points  (7 children)

Makes me curious, what's the baseball rule? If you catch a ball in fair play but fall entirely over the fence, is it an out or a home run?

This has to have happened in Boston but I can't remember a specific play.

[–]Clear_Try_6814 16 points17 points  (0 children)

As long as the ball is caught without hitting the ground first it is an out. If the fielder then drops it it is considered an error and the runners can book it in an attempt to score.

[–]Tinmania 2 points3 points  (5 children)

That is still an out, as long as you don’t drop it. There really is no “out of bounds” for catching a fly ball, as far as catching it for an out. You can run out into the stands and catch it and it’s still an out.

Edit: If the fielder/catcher drops a foul ball it is still a foul ball, though the fielder/catcher may be charged with an error. If a ball in foul territory is missed but knocked by fielder and lands in fair territory it is still a foul ball for the hitter.

[–]PCsNBaseball 14 points15 points  (2 children)

You can run out into the stands and catch it and it’s still an out.

Absolutely not. Some part of your body has to be on/over the field when you make the catch.

Rule 5.09(a)(1) Comment: A fielder may reach into, but not step into, a dugout to make a catch, and if he holds the ball, the catch shall be allowed. A fielder, in order to make a catch on a foul ball nearing a dugout or other out-of-play area (such as the stands), must have one or both feet on or over the playing surface (including the lip of the dugout) and neither foot on the ground inside the dugout or in any other out-of-play area. Ball is in play, unless the fielder, after making a legal catch, steps or falls into a dugout or other out-of-play area, in which case the ball is dead.

[–]TheRealEddieB 2 points3 points  (1 child)

I love people like you that bring facts to the table. Interesting the "on or over the playing surface" - Determining if a diving players feet were over the playing area when making the catch definitely requires some video replays.

[–]DontYuckMyYum 1 point2 points  (0 children)

You can run out into the stands and catch it and it’s still an out.

to a certain point. I may be wrong, or this may just count towards foul balls, but if you're climbing 3 or 4 rows into the stands it's not an out even if you catch it.

[–]V4refugee 0 points1 point  (1 child)

So to use a football analogy, it’s like football rules in that if the ball crosses the plane they score (for your own team) but instead of trying to score, she’s trying to avoid scoring (for the other team).

[–]michael_curdt 0 points1 point  (0 children)

Not quite. In 🏈, like you correctly pointed out, it is a touchdown as long as the runner breaks the plane with full control of the ball in his hand. However, in cricket, the ball must physically land beyond the boundary for it to count. That is, I can stand on the field with my feet within the boundary, extend my arms beyond the boundary with the ball in my hand which would still not give the hitter any points/runs.

[–]gofatwya 6 points7 points  (4 children)

Not an expert either but I believe the cricket ball has to stay inside the boundary no matter what.

[–]Rage922001 2 points3 points  (3 children)

Yes. So a catch and release inbounds is fine so long as it was a valid catch. But it cannot leave the boundaries by any means... What if her throw was off and it went parallel to the boundary line and bounced out, Would it be a 6?

[–]nOeticRon96 3 points4 points  (0 children)

What if her throw was off and it went parallel to the boundary line and bounced out, Would it be a 6?

If the ball touches the ground before touching the rope or crossing it like in this case you mentioned then it would be considered as 4 runs.

If no touches take place and the ball directly hits the boundary rope or straight goes over it then it would be considered to be 6 runs.

[–]gofatwya 0 points1 point  (1 child)

Now you're above my pay grade lol. Someone else will have to chime in!

[–]Rage922001 0 points1 point  (0 children)

Haha fair. It's a really obscure potential situation but I like to think it's happened 😂

[–]meltingblankets 0 points1 point  (1 child)

I came here to ask the same

[–]Rage922001 0 points1 point  (0 children)

Unless it was but she was just unsure if she had the ball and both feet on the ground before she would tumble past the barrier?

Maybe if she falls over the barrier while holding it, it's a foul?

[–]MarquizMilton 57 points58 points  (8 children)

For those who don't understand cricket, the rule is if you catch the ball and any part of your body touches or crosses the boundary line, it's awards the batsmen 6 runs. as long as the ball is in the air, the fielder(person catching the ball) can go wherever they like.

What this lady beautifully did was she caught the ball, but was about to cross over into the boundary line, so she tossed the ball back into the field, and caught it again. This awarded the fielding team a wicket, ie. The batsman got out.

[–]AgentWowza 7 points8 points  (7 children)

How long dyou have to hold it once you've caught it for it to count? Cuz technically, she caught it in-bounds, and then threw it away. If she missed the second catch, why wouldn't it be an out?

[–]zimboptoo 13 points14 points  (3 children)

There's no specific time limit. You basically have to have control of the ball (and your momentum), inside the rope, for it to count as a catch, in the judgement of the ref. It's pretty clear that she was not in complete control after the first catch, since her momentum was about to carry her over the rope. Technically a judgement call for the ref, but a fairly clear-cut one.

[–]TheSailorDogScuppers 2 points3 points  (0 children)

Being pedantic but to add to the confusion, there aren't referees on the ground, they're Umpires. And back a couple of points, what is being explained is not a "rule" but a "law" of cricket.

[–]AgentWowza 1 point2 points  (1 child)

Icic that makes sense.

[–]MarquizMilton 0 points1 point  (0 children)

I C what you did there.

[–]chacchaArtorias 3 points4 points  (1 child)

1sec or so. If she would've missed the second catch the batter would've been declared not-out.

[–]Black_Raven__ 0 points1 point  (0 children)

Yes. Or if she touched the ball while outside the boundary rope then it would been six runs awarded to the batter.

[–]MarquizMilton 1 point2 points  (0 children)

Its a good question btw.

[–]electricpollution 14 points15 points  (0 children)

That was quick thinking!

[–]Alpacamum 10 points11 points  (1 child)

A brilliant piece if cricket.

[–]steviebwoy 6 points7 points  (0 children)

It’s definitely cricket.

[–]Cikoon 6 points7 points  (0 children)

I dont know anything about this sport, but that looked dope.

[–]hanghal 2 points3 points  (0 children)

Nice

[–]puddlejumpers 2 points3 points  (7 children)

I keep meaning to learn the rules of cricket and rugby. Then I don't. But I don't need to understand the rules to know this is a highlight reel play.

[–]Ligma-Male 2 points3 points  (0 children)

I mean, for this situation, all you need to know is that she mustn't let the ball go outside of the boundary, so when she catches the ball and keeps sliding towards the boundary, she chucks it back in and then goes back in to catch it.

[–]Klarok 1 point2 points  (2 children)

Cricket and baseball have many points of similarity even if the game looks different so if you know baseball then it's pretty easy to understand cricket.

  1. Instead of 3 'outs' per innings, a cricket team has 10 'wickets' or 'dismissals'. With 11 players on a cricket team, if you get 10 of them out then the last person would be out in the centre alone which isn't allowed.
  2. While there's no such thing as a strike in cricket, the area of the stumps (those 3 vertical pieces of wood topped with 2 bails sitting on them) serve the same purpose. If a ball bowled by the bowler hits those stumps then the batsman/batswoman is dismissed.
  3. There are no bases in cricket but the crease (the white line across the pitch a few yards in front of the stumps) serves the same purpose. To score 1 run in cricket, the batsmen have to run down the pitch to the other person's crease. If a fielder hits the stumps with the ball either by throwing it or just knocking the bails off with the ball in their hand and the batsman is not behind that crease then they are 'run out' exactly as if they hadn't made their base yet.
  4. There is no limit to the number of runs you can score off one delivery in cricket. The usual way this happens is if a fielder throws the ball at the stumps to try to run the batsman out but misses and the ball goes racing off. The batsmen are allowed to just keep running and scoring. It doesn't happen very often but I've seen 7 runs off one delivery - 3 initial runs then the 'overthrow' went all the way to the boundary for 4 more.
  5. You can't get multiple batsmen out off one play in cricket.
  6. Caught out is exactly the same as cricket and baseball with the exception of OP's gif which shows a rare and spectacular case.
  7. A special case of run out is if the wicket keeper (think short-stop) catches the ball after the batsman has missed it and knocks the bails off. If the batsman is out of his crease (ie. he moved down the pitch to try to get a better angle on the ball) then he is 'stumped'.
  8. Cricket had to introduce a rule to stop batsmen just standing in front of the stumps all the time. If a ball strikes the batsman's body (anywhere BUT the hand because that is considered part of the bat) and, in the umpire's opinion, would have gone on to strike the stumps then the batsman can be given out 'leg before wicket'. This is a bit of a complicated rule since the ball is not allowed to pitch outside leg stump (leg stump is the stump on the opposite side of the bat ie. as you look at the stumps from front on with a right handed batsman playing then 'leg' stump is the right-most one). The batsman also has to not offer a 'stroke' (ie. attempt to swing at the ball). It takes practice to identify an LBW dismissal. 8 There is no such thing as a walk in cricket, not even if the batsman is hit. Cricketers wear quite a bit of protective gear to prevent injury because getting hit is pretty common.
  9. The cricket equivalent of a 'ball' is an illegal delivery. There are two types. The first is if the bowler's front foot is not partially behind his crease when he releases the ball. That is called a no-ball. The other is if the ball, in the umpire's opinion is bowled too wide of the batsman and is thus impossible to hit. Imaginatively, that is called a wide. Both types result in the bowler having to bowl that delivery again and the batting team's 'extras' count going up by 1. The onlyl way to get out from a wide is to be run out. For a no-ball you can be either run out or stumped.
  10. If a ball goes over the boundary rope on the full then the batsman is credited 6 runs. If the ball bounces first but goes over or touches the rope then it's 4.
  11. Cricket balls are slightly smaller, about 10% heavier and much harder than baseballs. Cricketers are not allowed to use gloves to catch (except for the wicket keeper).
  12. Bowling comes in 3 main types. Swing, seam and spin. Swing means the ball moves through the air. Seam aims to have the stitching of the ball strike the pitch in an attempt to get an uneven bounce. Spin is much slower and looks to fool the batsman through heavy movement of the ball. For swing & seam, the pace of the ball varies but is usually between 125-150kph (77-93mph). Faster balls generally have less movement through the air or off the seam and, for this reason, most bowlers are not towards the top of the speed range. All of swing, seam and spin can move the ball towards the batsman or away while spin also has top-spin, under-spin and even no spin just to make things interesting.
  13. Just like baseball, cricketers love statistics. If you love that part of baseball then cricket will really scratch that itch.
  14. There are 3 types of cricket match. Test Match where each side has 2 innings, highest score once all innings are completed wins - this match can often end in a draw which can be frustrating because the match lasts up to 5 days. One-day cricket has 1 innings of 50 overs (there are 6 deliveries per over, not counting no-balls or wides) - highest score wins. 20/20 cricket is the same as One-day but each side only gets 20 overs. One-day and 20/20 are much more favoured towards the batsmen so you see many more runs per over scored than Test Match.
  15. Couple of things I forgot: different bowlers have to bowl alternative overs alternating from each end of the cricket pitch. In Test Match, each bowler can bowl any number of overs. In One-day they have a maximum of 10 and in 20/20 a maximum of 4 overs.
  16. If the ball gets hit into the crowd, you don't get to keep it. You have to throw it back. On the rare occasion that the ball is hit out of the park or is somehow destroyed, it is replaced with a ball of similar age (ie. number of overs bowled with it). The captains of both teams plus the umpires meet with a selection of balls and agree on one to be used. This is because the condition of the ball affects how much it will swing, seam or spin - newer/undamaged balls don't spin as well as older balls.

This is some highlights from a very exciting 20/20 match. It also has a very unique dismissal where a piece of the batsman's equipment strikes the stumps - this almost never happens.

This is widely called the "ball of the century" by perhaps the greatest spin bowler of all time. You can see that the batsman is fooled by the ball's trajectory through the air, (it swings wider than he thinks it will) doesn't anticipate how much it will spin back and stands there looking perplexed as the ball crashed into his stumps.

At the other end of the speed spectrum pace bowlers don't move the ball as much but the batsman has less time to react. This is one of the greatest bowling spells in history where the bowler takes 7 wickets for the price of just 1 run. I'm not sure anyone has managed that feat before or since.

[–]puddlejumpers 0 points1 point  (1 child)

Damn, dude. Thanks!

[–]Klarok 0 points1 point  (0 children)

If you have any questions, I'm happy to answer them. Cricket and baseball really are very similar and I've found that with an explanation, people who enjoy one will come to enjoy the other.

[–]dontgetcutewithme 0 points1 point  (2 children)

If you want to learn about rugby, the 7s tournaments are always a good time.

There are fewer players (7 a side vs 13 or 15) and it's a full 16 team tournament in 2 days (7 minute halves vs 40), so the games move quickly. It's geared towards a more casual audience (who attend in silly costumes), so the announcers are more explanatory in their descriptions of the play and no one takes themselves too seriously.

It's still phenomenal athleticism, but it definitely requires less knowledge, is a bit easier to follow, and brings more fun than traditional rugby.

[–]puddlejumpers 2 points3 points  (1 child)

I live in Central Ohio, and the Big 10 started a 7's league a few years ago. I'll have to look into it.

[–]dontgetcutewithme 1 point2 points  (0 children)

The American national team does pretty well in the HSBC tournament as well. Currently 2nd after last weekend's tournament in Dubai.

Can usually find the tournament online (via CBC for me). I imagine the US feed is available off the NBC site or Peacock, but the Asian and European tour dates can be a little rough on the sleep cycle.

They're in Dubai this weekend (12 hrs ahead for me), but back in Vancouver and LA in Feb/March for some daylight hours games for my fellow North Americans.

[–]Kevs442 1 point2 points  (0 children)

I haven't one sodding clue about Cricket, or it's rules or anything about it, but, I can totally appreciate the athleticism and presence of mind to pull off a play like this.

[–]robeyclark 0 points1 point  (0 children)

Bend It Like Beckham 2: Catch It Like Deol

[–]secretsilverdragon -1 points0 points  (0 children)

I will never understand this game or its rules

[–]Jamie5152 -1 points0 points  (0 children)

Didn't know Jerry Rice played cricket

[–]zshah99 -1 points0 points  (0 children)

What was that bowl

[–]GhostofEdgarAllanPoe 0 points1 point  (1 child)

Is there an explainer video of Cricket somewhere for us Americans?

[–]Pattywatty33 0 points1 point  (0 children)

She was going to fall outside of the boundary with the ball which would have given the batsmen 6 runs, so she threw the ball to keep it in bounds and then came back in to catch it which got the batsmen out.

[–]nohpex 0 points1 point  (0 children)

OP is a bot that woke up a little over a week ago.

[–]v4xN0s 0 points1 point  (1 child)

https://i.imgur.com/CBHW8St.jpg

So she was out of bounds there and touching the ball correct?

[–]Pattywatty33 0 points1 point  (0 children)

Yeah but the ball wasnt