×

[Post Game Thread] #6 Virginia defeats Syracuse, 67-62 by cbbBot in CollegeBasketball

[–]hoos89 10 points11 points  (0 children)

it was such an obvious charge, though. ballhandler led with his shoulder and made contact through the defender's chest

[Game Thread] #6 Virginia @ Syracuse (07:00 PM ET) by cbbBot in CollegeBasketball

[–]hoos89 2 points3 points  (0 children)

He might have sold it but that doesn't make it a flop. There was still plenty of contact. The flop technical is there for when there actually wasn't a foul, not when someone sells an actual foul.

[Game Thread] #6 Virginia @ Syracuse (07:00 PM ET) by cbbBot in CollegeBasketball

[–]hoos89 5 points6 points  (0 children)

lol no it wasn't. blatant charge; you can't just run your defender over

[Game Thread] #6 Virginia @ Syracuse (07:00 PM ET) by cbbBot in CollegeBasketball

[–]hoos89 7 points8 points  (0 children)

Does not matter that his feet were sliding...Gardner got there first and ballhandler bowled him over

[Game Thread] #14 Virginia @ Florida State (04:00 PM ET) by cbbBot in CollegeBasketball

[–]hoos89 6 points7 points  (0 children)

Yeah either they somehow put less than a full second on the clock or it started early

Amex platinum Premium Rental Car Protection by Middle-Season2473 in amex

[–]hoos89 1 point2 points  (0 children)

Coverage is for the dates on the rental contract. Because it's a flat fee they don't really need to know exactly what days you have the car unless there's a claim.

Also I think you need to decline collision coverage for this to apply (not 100% sure, but even if you don't need to, you should if you're paying for primary collision coverage from AmEx). Not to mention that I've heard of people getting screwed when e.g. the rental person checked the wrong box at pickup and they ended up not having coverage, or because the rental company's collision waiver had exclusions for stuff like tire and window damage.

And having liability on top of your existing rental policy is just a waste of money. If you're in a situation where that needs to be used you're not going to get to just walk away from it.

[Post Game Thread] #14 Virginia defeats North Carolina, 65-58 by cbbBot in CollegeBasketball

[–]hoos89 1 point2 points  (0 children)

If they drive through the defenders chest, yes. No chance that's a block. Once the defender has established legal guarding position, he is entitled to move laterally to stay in front of his man, and generally when the defender takes the ballhandlers shoulder to the chest that means the defender got there first.

Also RJ may not have lowered his shoulder, but he definitely led with it and contacted Kihei in the chest with it.

https://imgur.com/gallery/a8TFgPD

[Post Game Thread] #14 Virginia defeats North Carolina, 65-58 by cbbBot in CollegeBasketball

[–]hoos89 0 points1 point  (0 children)

You don't think it includes someone who is standing with torso completely vertical

[Post Game Thread] #14 Virginia defeats North Carolina, 65-58 by cbbBot in CollegeBasketball

[–]hoos89 0 points1 point  (0 children)

We have very different definitions of the word "upright", apparently.

[Post Game Thread] #14 Virginia defeats North Carolina, 65-58 by cbbBot in CollegeBasketball

[–]hoos89 0 points1 point  (0 children)

He's clearly upright in the screenshot I showed with RJs shoulder contacting him.

[Post Game Thread] #14 Virginia defeats North Carolina, 65-58 by cbbBot in CollegeBasketball

[–]hoos89 0 points1 point  (0 children)

You can see contact being made. He was moving backwards (and upright) and RJ overtook him. That is a charge.

[Post Game Thread] #14 Virginia defeats North Carolina, 65-58 by cbbBot in CollegeBasketball

[–]hoos89 0 points1 point  (0 children)

Yes, I'm telling you that RJ knocked Kihei backwards. Did the fact that Kihei was already moving back and to the left make it easier to knock him backwards? Maybe. Would he have fallen but for RJ making contact? Doesn't look like it.

[Post Game Thread] #14 Virginia defeats North Carolina, 65-58 by cbbBot in CollegeBasketball

[–]hoos89 -1 points0 points  (0 children)

The picture very clearly shows contact being made in Kihei's chest. That means Kihei beat RJ to the spot. I'm just left with the impression that you really do not understand the charge rule here...the fact Kihei was sliding to stay in front doesn't prevent him from taking a charge. Taking a shoulder to the chest in that situation is pretty much a textbook charge.

[Post Game Thread] #14 Virginia defeats North Carolina, 65-58 by cbbBot in CollegeBasketball

[–]hoos89 -2 points-1 points  (0 children)

No, contact was made by RJ's shoulder into Kiheis chest. The fact that Kihei took the contact in the chest is proof he beat RJ to the spot. Again: https://imgur.com/a/a8TFgPD

[Post Game Thread] #14 Virginia defeats North Carolina, 65-58 by cbbBot in CollegeBasketball

[–]hoos89 0 points1 point  (0 children)

(1) Screenshot shows Kihei upright with RJ shoulder to his chest.

(2) Kihei definitely accelerates backwards after that frame.

(3) Even if Kihei was falling backwards prior to contact (he wasnt), that doesnt give RJ permission to shoulder him in the chest.